A&E Happenings for Feb. 27

Courtesy of Sub-stra-tum Gallery

One man’s vision Durango photographer Howard Rachlin’s “Visions of the West” is the February exhibit at Sub-stra-tum Gallery on Main Avenue. The venue with different color walls and stone walls lends itself to mounting an exciting display of 46 of Rachlin’s pieces. The images displayed range from the Four Corners area to the Pacific Ocean and demonstrate his love of nature and the West. The photographs include a variety that include abstracts, or what Rachlin calls Abstractures, as well as many 12-by-36-inch panoramas.

Thursday, Feb. 27

Durango Film: An Independent Film Festival, 9 a.m.-9 p.m., Gaslight Cinema and Animas City Theatre, www.durangofilm.org.

“Power & Status: Political Art from Babylon to Rome” by Judith Reynolds, 4 p.m., $15, Durango Arts Center, 802 East Second Ave., 259-2606, www.durangoarts.org.

Souper Thursday with Pete Stein (solo Americana), 5 p.m., Ska Brewing Co., 225 Girard St., 247-5792, www.skabrewing.com.

Trivia Night, 5:30 p.m., Durango Discovery Museum, 1333 Camino del Rio, 259-9234, www.durangodiscovery.org.

Jack Ellis, 5:30 p.m., Diamond Belle Saloon, 699 Main Ave., 375-7150.

Pete Money, 6 p.m., Derailed Pour House, 725 Main Ave., 247-5440, www.derailedpourhouse.com.

Rob Webster, 7 p.m., 6512, 128 E. College Drive, 247-9083.

Sean Farley, 7 p.m., Office Spiritorium, 699 Main Ave., 375-7260.

Intermediate dance instruction (7-8 p.m., $10, 799-8832); Tim Sullivan (free), 9 p.m.-close, Wild Horse Saloon, 601 East Second Ave., 375-2568.

Karaoke, 9 p.m., 8th Avenue Tavern, 509 East Eighth Ave., 259-8801.

Ongoing

“Visions of the West,” photography of Howard Rachlin, through February, Sub-stra-tum Gallery, 1021½ Main Ave., 375-7877, www.howardrachlin.com.

Journey of an Artist: the Art of Mary Ellen Long, through March 19, Fort Lewis College Art Gallery, 247-7167, www.fortlewis.edu/art/ArtGallery.aspx.

“Alternate Views” by Susan Giddings, through February, Pine River Valley Bank, 1701 Main Ave., 385-9583.

“Improvisation: Restraint,” stitched drawings by Susan Moss, through February in the upstairs Art Library, Durango Arts Center, 802 East Second Ave., 259-2606, www.durangoarts.org.

“Tones of Black & White,” images by Steve Immel, Marshall Gould, James Cammack, Paul Caponigro and Mitch Dobrowner, through March 5, Open Shutter Gallery, 735 Main Ave., 382-8355, www.openshuttergallery.com.

Southside Artisans Guild presents the art of Kat Horn, through March 26, Raider Ridge Café, 509 East Eighth Ave., 375-9727.

“Woven to Wear: textiles from The Durango Collection,” through May, Center for Southwest Studies at FLC, http://swcenter.fortlewis.edu.

Far Out

Durango Film: An Independent Film Festival, Feb. 26 - March 2, 375-7779, www.durangofilm.org.

Durango Celtic Festival, March 6-9, www.durangocelticfestival.com.

Durango Ragtime & Early Jazz Festival, March 14-16, Henry Strater Theatre, 699 Main Ave., www.durangoragtimefestival.com.

Submissions

Submit events at www.durangoherald.com/section/eventsubmit, or fax, mail or deliver a listing for your event to the Herald no later than noon Wednesday for the coming week. Ted Holteen compiles the calendar. Email him at ted@durangoherald.com. Check www.durangoherald.com for updates to the calendar throughout the week.

Most Read in Arts

Newsarrow

Sportsarrow

Arts & Entertainmentarrow

Opinionarrow

Columnistsarrow

Classifiedsarrow

Call Us

View full site


© The Durango Herald