Napa Valley 101

Southwest Life

Napa Valley 101

The basics for a California wine country trip
Bottles of sparkling wine line a riddling rack inside a cave at Schramsberg Vineyards and Cellars in Calistoga, Calif. The caves were dug by Chinese workers in the 1870s.
The Darioush winery in Napa, Calif., is notable for its striking architecture, which incorporates references to Persepolis, the capital of ancient Persia.
Newton Vineyards in St. Helena, Calif., has some luscious gardens on its grounds.
A couple checks out a bottle of wine they purchased at Opus One in Oakville, Calif.
A couple takes pictures at the back of the Napa Valley Wine Train as it makes its way through St. Helena, Calif.

Napa Valley 101

SPF
Bottles of sparkling wine line a riddling rack inside a cave at Schramsberg Vineyards and Cellars in Calistoga, Calif. The caves were dug by Chinese workers in the 1870s.
SPF
The Darioush winery in Napa, Calif., is notable for its striking architecture, which incorporates references to Persepolis, the capital of ancient Persia.
SPF
Newton Vineyards in St. Helena, Calif., has some luscious gardens on its grounds.
SPF
A couple checks out a bottle of wine they purchased at Opus One in Oakville, Calif.
SPF
A couple takes pictures at the back of the Napa Valley Wine Train as it makes its way through St. Helena, Calif.
If you go

Opus One: 7900 St. Helena Highway, Oakville; www.opusonewinery.com or 707-944-9442. Tours and tastings by appointment.
Rubicon Estate: 1991 St. Helena Highway, Rutherford; www.rubiconestate.com or 707-968-1100. Various tastings, tours, events.
Silverado Trail: www.silveradotrail.com
Stags’ Leap Wine Cellars: 5766 Silverado Trail, Napa; http://stagsleap.com or 800-395-2441. Call for tasting tour reservation two weeks ahead of time.
Darioush Winery: 4240 Silverado Trail, Napa; www.darioush.com or 707-257-2345. Tastings daily, 10:30 a.m.-5 p.m. Tours by appointment.
Soda Canyon Store: 4006 Silverado Trail, Napa; www.sodacanyonstore.com or 707-252-0285.
Morimoto Napa: 610 Main Street, Napa; www.morimotonapa.com or 707-252-1600. Entrees $25-$35.
Angele: 540 Main St., Napa, www.angelerestaurant.com or 707-252-8115. Entrees $18-$34.
French Laundry: 6640 Washington St., Yountville; www.frenchlaundry.com/ or 707-944-2380. Prix fixe tasting menu, $270.
Redd: 6480 Washington St., Yountville; www.reddnapavalley.com or 707-944-2222. Entrees, $15-$32.
Bouchon: 6534 Washington St., Yountville; www.bouchonbistro.com or 707-944-8037. Entrees, $24-$34.50.
Domaine Chandon: 1 California Drive, Yountville; www.chandon.com or 888-242-6366. Tasting lounge, visitor center, Etoile restaurant.
Oakville Grocery: 7856 St. Helena Highway, Oakville; www.oakvillegrocery.com or 707-944-8802.
Beaulieu Vineyard: 1960 St. Helena Highway, Rutherford; www.bvwines.com or 800-264-6918. Open daily, 10 a.m.-5 p.m., tastings start at $15.
Rutherford Grill: 1180 Rutherford Road, Rutherford; www.hillstone.com or 707-963-1792. Entrees, $18-$33; burgers, salads, sandwiches, $13-$19.
Culinary Institute Of America At Greystone: 2555 Main St., St. Helena, www.ciachef.edu/california/. Wine Spectator Restaurant, 707-967-1010.
Newton Vineyard: 2555 Madrona Ave., St. Helena; www.newtonvineyard.com/ or 707-963-9000. Tours and tastings available by appointment Tuesday-Saturday.
Raymond Vineyards: 849 Zinfandel Lane, St. Helena; www.raymondvineyards.com or 707-963-3141. Tasting room, open daily, 10 a.m.-4 p.m. Tasting fees start at $15.
Schramsberg Vineyards: 1400 Schramsberg Road, Calistoga, www.schramsberg.com or 707-942-4558. Tours and tastings by appointment only, reservations required.

Reader Comments
click here to add your event
Area Events