To the Skyhawks’ victors go the spoils


To the Skyhawks’ victors go the spoils

FLC men’s soccer cleans up in RMAC honors
All-Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference Soccer

Men’s Soccer
Player of the Year – Scott Grode, senior, forward, Metro State (Gilbert, Ariz.)
Defensive Player of the Year – Fabian Kling, senior, defense, FLC (Augsburg, Germany)
Freshmen of the Year – T.J. Thiebaut, forward, Metro State (Pueblo South High School); Logan Miller, midfield, Regis (Tomball, Texas)
Goalkeeper of the Year – Ryan Wirth, senior, FLC (Bayfield High School)
Coach of the Year – Oige Kennedy, FLC

All-RMAC First Team
Note: Coaches seelected three forwards, three defenders, one goalkeeper and one at-large position for the first team; the other teams are regardless of position.
* unanimous pick
Forwards – * Scott Grode, senior, Metro State; *Tesho Akindele, sophomore, Colorado Mines; Thomas Hoang, senior, FLC; Kyle Emge, senior, Regis.
Midfielders – Alex Nass, junior, Colorado Mines; Phil Wilson, senior, Colorado Mines; Ben Buhler, senior, Regis.
Defenders – * Fabian Kling, senior, FLC; Andrew Mejia, sophomore, Metro State; Berekk Blackwell, senior, FLC.
Goalkeeper – Ryan Wirth, senior, FLC.

All-RMAC Second Team
Forwards – Matt Friesen, senior, UC-Colorado Springs; Marc Herschberger, junior, Metro State.
Midfielders – Cory Dean, senior, FLC; Robert Kinsey, senior, CSU-Pueblo; Joey Madigan, senior, FLC; Chris Yoder, senior, Metro State; Brett Drefs, junior, UC-Colorado Springs; Stephen Reed, junior, Regis.
Defenders – Sean Helster, junior, Colorado Mines; Taylor Diem, junior, Regis; Dele Johnson, senior, Metro State.

All-RMAC Third Team
Forward – Danny Molineaux, senior, Colorado Mesa.
Midfielders – Marco Escobar, sophomore, Colorado Mesa; Scott Crawford, senior, Metro State; Logan Miller, freshman, Regis; Jonny Sawyer, freshman, CSU-Pueblo.
Defenders – Bashiru Ali, senior, Colorado Mesa; Jeremy Gwerder, junior, Colorado Mesa; Carlos Verdugo, senior, UC-Colorado Springs; Max Thomas, junior, UC-Colorado Springs.
Goalkeeper – Michael Miller, freshman, Adams State; Jacob Blum, senior, CSUP.
Women’s Soccer
Player of the Year – Julissa Rodriguez, senior, forward, N.M. Highlands (Kennewick, Wash.)
Defensive Player of the Year – Alison Cahill, sophomore, defense, Regis (Boise, Idaho)
Freshman of the Year – Janelle McGee, forward, N.M. Highlands (Vacaville, Calif.)
Goalkeeper of the Year – Savannah Thompson, sophomore, CSU-Pueblo (Upland, Calif.)
Coach of the Year – J.B. Belzer, Regis

All-RMAC First Team
Note: Coaches seelected three forwards, three defenders, one goalkeeper and one at-large position for the first team; the other teams are regardless of position. Brittany Corona and Hayley Renko tied so there are 12 players on the first team.
Forwards – Julissa Rodriguez, senior, N.M. Highlands; Anna Evans, sophomore, Colorado Mines; Hayley Hollenga, senior, FLC; Jordan Miller, senior, Regis.
Midfielders – Megan Woodworth, junior, Colorado Mines; Sara Egbom, senior, FLC; Sara Islas, senior, Colorado Mesa.
Defenders – Alison Cahill, sophomore, Regis; Kelsey Neal, sophomore, Colorado Mines; Brittany Corona, senior, Colorado Christian; Hayley Renko, junior, Metro State.
Goalkeeper – Savannah Thompson, sophomore, CSU-Pueblo.

All-RMAC Second Team
Forwards – CC Rinehart, sophomore, Regis; Janelle McGee, freshman, N.M. Highlands; Jessica Hellweg, senior, Adams State; Abby Rolph, freshman, Metro State; Karisa Price, freshman, Metro State; Raliegh Mercer, sophomore, Nebraska-Kearney.
Midfielders – Marissa Davis, junior, Regis; Erin Onat, senior, Colorado Mines; Julia Saenz, senior, UC-Colorado Springs; Kelci Crispe, junior, Colorado Mesa.

All-RMAC Third Team
Forward – Emma Cannis, sophomore, FLC.
Midfielders – Megan Streidel, sophomore, FLC; Elena Benavides, junior, FLC; Keelyn Arnold, freshman, Regis; Kristin Preble, senior, UC-Colorado Springs; Sophia Whigwam, senior, Colorado Mesa.
Defenders – Taylor White, junior, Regis; Jensen Keith, junior, N.M. Highlands; Samantha Burneo, sophomore, Colorado Mesa; Kelci Newlin, junior, Metro State.
Goalkeeper – Caitlyn Moses, junior, Colorado Christian.
Herald Staff

Reader Comments
click here to add your event
Area Events