A gun in 30 minutes

News

A gun in 30 minutes

Firearm purchase can be simple, but not to be taken lightly, sellers say
Jason Lenburg of Colorado Trading Co. holds a Henry lever-action rifle that Shannon Story purchased Thursday. Store owner Cole Hyson helps with the sale.
Those who purchase a firearm from a retail store must fill out a Colorado Bureau of Investigations background form and pay a $10 fee, among other things.
Both a state and federal form are required for a firearm purchase.
Question E on the federal Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives form 4473, has created problems for some applicants who have a medical marijuana card.

A gun in 30 minutes

Jason Lenburg of Colorado Trading Co. holds a Henry lever-action rifle that Shannon Story purchased Thursday. Store owner Cole Hyson helps with the sale.
Those who purchase a firearm from a retail store must fill out a Colorado Bureau of Investigations background form and pay a $10 fee, among other things.
Both a state and federal form are required for a firearm purchase.
Question E on the federal Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives form 4473, has created problems for some applicants who have a medical marijuana card.
What the law says

Open carry: Colorado is an open carry state, so legally a citizen can possess and carry a visible firearm, said La Plata County Sheriff Duke Schirard. The exception to this law is if the citizen is in a municipality that has outlawed open carry. Additionally, a person cannot carry a gun into a liquor store, bar, government office or school. Business owners also have the ability to prohibit guns inside their stores. At one time, Schirard said, people were able to “check in” their weapons before entering a bar. This is no longer the case.
Concealed weapons: Possessing a concealed weapon can get you into trouble if you are lacking the proper documentation. A concealed carry license is required to publicly carry a firearm in your purse, pocket, coat or anywhere it’s not noticeably visible, unless it’s in your car, personal property or place of business. The county sheriff issues the permits upon the applicant meeting the requirements. Schirard said he generally issues about 300 to 400 concealed carry permits a year.

4 gun safety rules

Joe Gabbard, who operates Overwatch Tactical Solutions Firearms Training in Durango, offered four basic rules to live by when operating a firearm:
Treat all firearms as if they are always loaded.
Never point the muzzle at anything you wouldn’t want to be destroyed.
Keep fingers off the trigger and out of the trigger guard unless ready to shoot.
Know your target and beyond.

Reader Comments