Couple restores mining-era boardinghouse outside Silverton

Southwest Life

Couple restores mining-era boardinghouse outside Silverton

The Animas River flows past the Eureka Lodge outside Silverton. The mining boardinghouse was abandoned in 1929. Dr. Bob and Terri Brokering have spent years restoring the 11,000-square-foot building, which has been listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
Dr. Bob Brokering and his wife, Terri, have restored the Martin Mining Complex, now the Eureka Lodge, which boasts a beautiful library and parlor, a room with a pool table, a dining room and separate kitchen. The Animas River bisects the 43-acre property, which is permanently protected by one of the first conservation easements on private mining claims in the San Juan Mountains.
Dr. Bob Brokering and his wife, Terri, standing on a bridge spanning the Animas River, added in-floor heat and crawl-space insulation to the 11,000-square-foot building.
Visitors see this view of the Eureka Lodge as they drive in on a narrow gravel road.
To the delight of visitors, Dr. Bob Brokering added a south-facing porch.
The mine entrance is officially closed, though Dr. Bob Brokering occasionally does personal tours. A hot spring at the back of the mine is critical to a geothermal system that heats the boardinghouse.
The Eureka Lodge features a beautiful library and parlor.
A sample bedroom in the miners’ boardinghouse includes original Douglas fir wainscoting on the walls. Never painted or plastered, the walls show original quality-control check pencil check marks from when the boards left an Oregon lumber mill.
Dr. Bob Brokering’s vintage 1948 International Harvester flatbed farm truck is parked next to the original Martin Mining Complex machine shed and blacksmith shop.
The Animas River bisects the 43-acre property, which is permanently protected by one of the first conservation easements on private mining claims in the San Juan Mountains.

Couple restores mining-era boardinghouse outside Silverton

The Animas River flows past the Eureka Lodge outside Silverton. The mining boardinghouse was abandoned in 1929. Dr. Bob and Terri Brokering have spent years restoring the 11,000-square-foot building, which has been listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
Dr. Bob Brokering and his wife, Terri, have restored the Martin Mining Complex, now the Eureka Lodge, which boasts a beautiful library and parlor, a room with a pool table, a dining room and separate kitchen. The Animas River bisects the 43-acre property, which is permanently protected by one of the first conservation easements on private mining claims in the San Juan Mountains.
Dr. Bob Brokering and his wife, Terri, standing on a bridge spanning the Animas River, added in-floor heat and crawl-space insulation to the 11,000-square-foot building.
Visitors see this view of the Eureka Lodge as they drive in on a narrow gravel road.
To the delight of visitors, Dr. Bob Brokering added a south-facing porch.
The mine entrance is officially closed, though Dr. Bob Brokering occasionally does personal tours. A hot spring at the back of the mine is critical to a geothermal system that heats the boardinghouse.
The Eureka Lodge features a beautiful library and parlor.
A sample bedroom in the miners’ boardinghouse includes original Douglas fir wainscoting on the walls. Never painted or plastered, the walls show original quality-control check pencil check marks from when the boards left an Oregon lumber mill.
Dr. Bob Brokering’s vintage 1948 International Harvester flatbed farm truck is parked next to the original Martin Mining Complex machine shed and blacksmith shop.
The Animas River bisects the 43-acre property, which is permanently protected by one of the first conservation easements on private mining claims in the San Juan Mountains.
Reader Comments
click here to add your event
Area Events